From the President: Prayer and Sabbath Retreat

Dear Fellowship Friends,

Taylor LAOne of the treasured rhythms of the life of the Board of The Fellowship is a yearly face-to-face gathering in which we do the work of evaluating, visioning, and planning for a new season of ministry for and with music and worship artists.

This year we were not able to meet at Lake Junaluska during Music & Worship Arts Week. As I come to the end of my first year as President, at such a time in the life of the world as this, I am increasingly aware that The Fellowship needs a time of deep discernment, of quiet listening to God, before we begin the work of visioning and planning for our future.

I am equally aware that this is our work to do corporately, not just the work of The Fellowship Board alone. God is giving you dreams and visions as well.

Therefore, I am inviting you to join me in an online Prayer and Sabbath Retreat. This time of quiet, rest, prayer, and discernment will be held Thursday evening, August 13; Friday, August 14; and Saturday morning, August 15. All five sessions will be online via Zoom. The schedule for our time together is below.

I am convinced that this time of sabbath and discernment for The Fellowship as an organization is essential. My prayer is that each of us will benefit personally from this time of quiet focus as well. I'm counting on the wisdom of Isaiah 30:15 for all of us, "For thus said the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel: In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength."

Because Lake Junaluska, NC is a place where I am deeply connected with God, I will be facilitating this retreat from Lake Junaluska. I invite any who would like to join me there in person to come. We will, of course, observe appropriate physical distancing, wear masks, and meet outside as much as possible. I encourage those of you in other areas of the country to consider gathering with other members of The Fellowship who are near you at a place of deep spiritual connection for you.

Please respond to this invitation to let me know of your desire to participate in August, OR simply to keep The Fellowship in your prayers. Your response will also be necessary for us to make appropriate arrangements. 

Is God calling you to a time out for sabbath rest, for prayer and discernment? Will you join me in prayer for The Fellowship? I look forward to spending time with God together with you in August.

Rev. Leigh Anne Taylor,
National Fellowship President


Prayer and Sabbath Retreat Schedule

This retreat will function best if you are able to set aside most of your time from Thursday evening through Saturday morning. In the space between these online times of prayer, you will be invited to reflect, rest, and re-member and listen to God.

Thursday, August 13
Evening Prayer 9:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 CT / 7:00 MT / 6:00 PT

Friday, August 14
Morning Prayer 10:00 a.m. ET / 9:00 CT / 8:00 MT / 7:00 PT
Midday Prayer 2:00 p.m. ET / 1:00 CT / Noon MT / 11:00 am PT
Evening Prayer 9:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 CT / 7:00 MT / 6:00 PT

Saturday, August 15 
Morning Prayer 10:00 a.m. ET / 9:00 CT / 8:00 MT / 7:00 PT

 

Staffing Announcement from The Fellowship
Taking Inventory

Related Posts

Comment for this post has been locked by admin.
 

Comments

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.umfellowship.org/